Twitter = a bunch of arse?

I have a confession to make. It ain’t pretty, but I know I’ll feel better for getting it out there. ‘Tell the truth and shame the devil’, as my grandmother used to say (before the Alzheimers took over and we had to stick her in a home, but that’s a story for another day), so here it is…

Is it just me, or is Twitter a bunch of arse? This isn’t a rhetorical question – I really want to know ‘cos I just don’t get it!

I’d like to think I’m pretty well informed. I followed the buzz when Twitter launched, read numerous reviews and articles, subscribed to their blog’s RSS feed, signed up for a trial account – hell, I even used it for a while. You set up a user account, then link up with your friends. By sending a text message to Twitter you can forward that message to your friends, and also post the message to your Twitter ‘blog’. So you can post to a blog using a mobile phone. Is that it?

As far as I can tell, you can’t include images, audio or even hyperlinks (ok you can include hyperlinks, but with difficulty) in Twitter posts, and text content is subject to the usual SMS limitation of 140 characters. As such, here is a selection of ‘quality’ posts published via Twitter in the past few minutes:

Leaving the dentist. No cavities. Booyah!

Sucking down a Caribou Ice Mocha Coffee. Yummm (as Furby would say)

Yet again, it is far too cold for this to be May.

I know what you’re thinking, so let me save you some time – the Pulitzer nomination forms can be found here.

I know that several luminaries, including Rob Scoble really dig Twitter in a big way, and I’m possibly making an ass of myself here. So can somebody please do me a favour and fill me in , ‘cos right now all I can say is ‘The Emperor has no clothes!’

*update*

About 2 minutes after I posted the above, Rob Scoble published some observations on the growth of Twitter vs Blogger. Some interesting points in the source article and related comments. The latter link is actually really enlightening, but I’m still not convinced.

2 Responses to “Twitter = a bunch of arse?”


  1. 1 Jeremy Toeman May 9, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Good post. My perspective is this: Twitter itself is fine – if people want to use it, good for them. I choose not to, nor do I choose to read it, as I really don’t feel I have the time nor interest to read or write “making a sandwich”, “whistling”, and “the guy next to me on the bus smells a little funny, ktnxbai”. Boring stuff. But again, to each their own, and for those who choose to twitter away, enjoy enjoy enjoy.

    What is ‘arse’, however, is the immense amount of publicity the “a-list blogosphere” gives twitter. I dont know if there’s just such a lack in other interesting news or what other factor is in play. I give the twitter team amazing kudos for getting a cultlike following out of some very prominent bloggers. It’s truly amazing. And that’s the part I *really* don’t get.

    tweet: eating a kiwi.


  1. 1 Twitter = Not a Bunch of Arse After All « Si Quando Dubium, Illic Est Scilicet Trackback on November 30, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

