State Highway 1 at its finest: Wellington to Auckland while it’s pissing down

In preparation for my impending move, I spent most of last weekend on the road. Down to Napier on Friday to drop Bentley off with his TEMPORARY foster parents, then on to Wellington to put my stuff in storage and sell my car.

Call me sentimental, but I have to say SH1 is just an amazing drive. Maybe it’s because it’s aways taken me to or from some of the best times I’ve ever had, but it still winds through some pretty amazing scenery!

Sunday’s drive north was about as wet as I’ve had it in a long while, with the added bonus that the Ruapehu lahar started while I was just starting out on the Desert Road – turns out I missed a 4-hour detour through Marton, Palmerston North, Waipukurau and Napier by about 10 minutes. Hail the mighty Sierra!

Anyhoo, for those of you who haven’t had the pleasure in a while (if at all), here are some snaps taken from the road. In anticipation of the critique:

  • I know the image quality is terrible, but what do you expect from shots taken from a speeding car? It was raining!
  • Of the various local icons shown, I know I missed many, such as the statue of the Hunterway dog in Hunterville (Hunterway capital of the world!) – see previous point about the rain.
  • Holly, I hope you appreciate the photo of the Wairaki BP – that one’s for you!
  • The Dire Straits tape wasn’t my idea, but I did find it strangely comforting. I’m becoming my father! (Dad, did I tell you I met Mark Knopfler last year, by the way?)

Our tour begins in Bulls…

0 Responses to “State Highway 1 at its finest: Wellington to Auckland while it’s pissing down”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

