So long, and thanks for all the fish

Apologies for the lack of updates this past fortnight. It’s amazing how much you can do and how much your life can change in just fourteen days!

As many of you will know, I have now finished work and am on my way to the UK for a while. I’m spending two weeks working the vintage at a small winery in the Hawke’s Bay (Moana Park, out in Puketapu), then heading to Chicago on the 13th to hang out with Dave for a bit. All going well I’ll be in London on or about May 1st.

The vintage thing was one of those amazing accidents that just kind of happened. I gambled on a quick turnaround of my UK visa application, giving notice at work before I’d actually sent it in. When my initial application was returned with a request for more information it looked like I was going to be stuck in Auckland, homeless and jobless, unable even to shoot over to Aussie for want of a passport (was with British High Commission in Wellington).

Anyhoo, the long and the short of it is that my friend Dan (winemaker at Moana) offered me a couple of weeks work while I was waiting for a visa, and I accepted. And then my visa arrived the very next day.

Funny how things work out. To tell the truth I’d wanted to work a vintage for some time, but it wasn’t like I could just quit my job and head down. When I did decide to quit my job it didn’t even occur to me that i could come down for vintage – it took a petty little bureaucrat in Wellington to force me to reconsider my options, and for that I will be eternally grateful.

So that’s what I’m up to right now. There’s been a lot else happen since my last post, including various leaving parties, Dave and Gina Todd’s wedding (a scandalous reunion of degenerates – myself included – who really should grow up), and the saddest of all – dropping Bentley off with his TEMPORARY foster parents. I have news, I have tales, I have photos and I have amusing / embarrassing anecdotes. But not right now. I’ve just got in from 16 hours at the winery and am truely buggered. Drop in over the next few days and I’ll fill you in. Promise.

0 Responses to “So long, and thanks for all the fish”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

