And the duck said…

… ‘I don’t know, doc – it started out as a boil on my ass.’

Prrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrp!

I finally got around to hitting the Surgery Museum today. I really like museums, especially the smaller ones. Wellington got shafted when they gave up their old museum in exchange for Te Papa. It might be a great exhibition hall / function venue, but Te Papa is NOT a museum. The Auckland museum is one of the best I’ve ever seen, with thousands of real artifacts and pieces of historical significance on display. Isn’t that what museums are supposed to be?

I think the reason I like museums so much is that they provide a context that stimulates the imagination. After I went to the whaling museum in Picton (essentially some guy’s house, jam-packed with remnants of the old NZ whaling stations) I dreamed about that stuff for weeks. Maybe that’s why many museums are finding it hard to attract visitors these days – people don’t have imaginations anymore, so they just don’t get it. That’s really sad, but I still don’t see that the answer is to dumb it down to the point where you’re little more than a glorified art gallery. As far as museums go, the whaling museum at Picton kicks Te Papa’s ass.

Anyhoo, enough ranting (for now). The Surgery Museum was pretty cool – click here for pics.

1 Response to “And the duck said…”


  1. 1 Little V May 5, 2007 at 9:00 am

    Mr Lee Endfeilds inter carnial lead injector is in pride of place by the rocking chair on the porch hee ha grand ma


Leave a Reply

