What’s your party trick?

A friend of mine grew up on a farm, but went to a fairly typical high school close to the city. When he was about 14 the school fair came along, and everybody was required to put on some kind of talent piece. Some kids danced, others sang or played an instrument, my friend led a lamb out into the arena and gave a home-kill demonstration. That’s right folks – slaughtered, skinned, butchered and in the freezer in something like 10 minutes.

That might sound pretty wierd to some (personally I think it’s piss-funny, especially when I imagine the likely reaction of the audience), but to anyone who grew up in farming, wierd is knowing how to play Stairway to Heaven on the ukelele but being incapable of putting dinner on the table.

Anyhoo, talent is talent, and I must admit that sometimes I can’t help but feel a little lacking in that respect. Sure I can tie a cherry stalk in a knot with my tongue (closely related to one of my other gifts) – but there’s nothing there that’s going to get me a spot on Letterman any time soon. This guy, on the other hand…

Pointless? Yup.
Stupid? Probably.
Dangerous? Who are you – his mother?
Cool? Absolutely!

So what’s your party trick?

2 Responses to “What’s your party trick?”


  1. 1 She who loves ya May 13, 2007 at 1:12 am

    Lookee at what a Sunday morning google search turned up …

    I figured you must’ve gone and I’m kinda glad because there would’ve been fifty five puddles of tears if I’d had to say goodbye!

    I hope it’s good over there, and I hope you’re finding what you’re looking for.

    xoxo

  2. 2 RF May 13, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Ah Mr Parker, the things we come across…

    I guess the funniest thing about it was that at the time I was at a Christian boys school, and the thought of killing a sheep as a demo at the gala was never really put into context until some 23 yrs later as I described the events. Now every time I think of it, it makes me laugh.

    I recommend that everyone should at least try something like this in their life, just to get out the everyday rut we all seem to find ourselves in. ..and for the record, it took me closer to 20 mins.

    LIVE IT UP DUDES!!! RF


Leave a Reply

