Words you SERIOUSLY don’t want to see in your mail

Sarah just got in from work, having cleared our mailbox on the way home. My sole piece of correspondence had a massive Ministry of Justice seal on it, and when I opened the envelope the first word i saw… SUMMONS in big bold upper-case letters.

What’s next – a plague of locusts?

Thankfully it turns out that the offending word was proceeded by the word JURY, and accompanied by instructions to be at the High Court at a given date and time next month, lest I be torn a new one. Not only am I not dreading jury duty and trying to think of a way to get out of it, I CAN’T FUCKING WAIT!

I’ve always been pretty critical of our jury system. I mean, you’re supposed to be judged by a jury of one’s peers, but all my peers have demanding careers and would never let themselves get sucked in to six weeks’ slog in the jury room for less than minimum wage. The only people with the time and inclination to sit on juries – with the exception of my own sweet self – are old people and the unemployed, and though I hope to be old one day and have endured the odd bout of unemployment in the past would certainly not consider them my peers.

Anyhoo, that’s my big news of the day. Will let you know how I get on, and hopefully have a blow-by-blow for you if I end up being selected. Wish me luck!

1 Response to “Words you SERIOUSLY don’t want to see in your mail”


  1. 1 Simonne June 10, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Uh … congratulations …?


Leave a Reply

